Washington State Pharmacy Association

Quick Links

Congratulations 2013 Award Winners

The Washington State Pharmacy Association (WSPA) is proud to announce its 2013 awards winners, who underscore WSPA’s commitment to the quality of care. The winners were acknowledged at the Awards of Distinction luncheon, November 9, 2013 at the Great Wolf Lodge in Grand Mound, Washington. 

Bowl of Hygeia - Janet Kusler, R.Ph.
Recognizes an exemplary pharmacist who has made outstanding contributions in the area of community service.

Washington State Pharmacist of the Year Award - Andy Stergachis, Ph.D., R.Ph.
This award honors a pharmacist who possesses qualities of excellence in routine practice and association activities, is an exemplary role model, and who has contributed in service and skill to the WSPA during the past year.

Washington State Health-System Pharmacist of the Year Award - Glenn Adams, B.S.Pharm., Pharm.D.
Recognizes an outstanding health-system pharmacist and their service to the profession of pharmacy and specifically, hospital pharmacy. A pharmacist with contributions in pharmacy programs, cooperation with the entire health team as well as service to the community as a whole.

Washington State Pharmacy Student of the Year Award - Yara Nouisser (WSU)
Recognizes a student member who has made consistent, sustained, and outstanding contributions toward the growth and development of pharmacy student participation on both a local and state level.

Washington State Pharmacy Technician of the Year Award - Mary Nyman
Acknowledges a pharmacy technician who displays excellence in the practice setting, is motivated to learn new tasks and roles, provides community service and has contributed to the WSPA on a local or state level.

Washington State Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year Award Sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual - Heather Gamache, Pharm.D.
Established to encourage pharmacists with less than 10 years of practice to participate in association activities. The community recognizes an exemplary pharmacist who has made outstanding contributions in the area of community service.

Bill Mueller Outstanding Mentor Award - Steven Anderson, R.Ph.
Recognizes a pharmacist or pharmacy technician actively engages in practice and with at least 10 years of pharmacy practice experience who has been and continues to be an outstanding mentor in the field of pharmacy.

David Almquist Award - Linda Garrelts MacLean, B.Pharm., R.Ph., CDE
For outstanding work in the endeavors of Washington State Pharmacy Association promotion and pharmacy enrichment.

Distinguished Leadership Service Award -
Steve Singer, R.Ph.
Pays tribute to a member who has, over his or her career, been instrumental in the development and growth of the profession, and who demonstrates a high level of influence and direction with respect to their workplace, the entire health profession, the community, and/or the profession of pharmacy as a whole.

Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award -  Steven Setter, Pharm.D., DVM, CDE, CGP, FACSP

Recognizes a practicing pharmacist or pharmacy technician using innovative pharmacy practice to improve patient care and outcomes.

Rodney D. Shafer Award -
Donald Beste, Jr., R.Ph.
Acknowledges a pharmacy professional who has made pioneering and sustaining contributions to the profession.

Cardinal Health Generation RX Champions Award -  Ryan Oftebro, Pharm.D., FACA & Ryan Hansen, Pharm.D., Ph.D., R.Ph., FACA
Recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention.




Washington State Pharmacy Association
411 Williams Ave South
Renton, WA 98057
(425) 228-7171
Fax: (425) 277-3897
Email: wspa@wsparx.org

Google Map
Visitor Parking Map