Washington State Pharmacy Association

Quick Links

WSPA Awards of Distinction

“Don't worry when you are not recognized, but strive to be worthy of recognition.”
-Abraham Lincoln


The Washington State Pharmacy Association annually honors the accomplishments of deserving pharmacy professionals. It’s that time of year again to recognize your peers who have demonstrated exceptional dedication and commitment to the pharmacy profession. If you know someone who has gone above and beyond and would like to recognize their hard work and dedication – nominate them for an award! This is a great way to say “Thank you”!


BOWL OF HYGEIA: Recognizes an exemplary pharmacist who has made outstanding contributions in the area of community service throughout their career.

WASHINGTON STATE PHARMACIST OF THE YEAR AWARD: Honors a pharmacist who possesses qualities of excellence in routine practice and association activities, is an exemplary role model, and who has contributed in service and skill to the WSPA during the past year.

WASHINGTON STATE HEALTH-SYSTEM PHARMACIST OF THE YEAR AWARD: Recognizes an outstanding health-system pharmacist and their service to the profession of pharmacy and specifically, hospital pharmacy. A pharmacist with contributions in pharmacy programs, cooperation with the entire health team as well as service to the community as a whole. Sponsored by PFIZER

WASHINGTON STATE STUDENT PHARMACIST OF THE YEAR AWARD: Recognizes a student member who has made consistent, sustained and outstanding contributions toward the growth and develop of pharmacy student participation on both a local and state level.

WASHINGTON STATE PHARMACY TECHNICIAN OF THE YEAR AWARD: Acknowledges a pharmacy technician who displays excellence in the practice setting, is motivated to learn new tasks and roles, provide community service, and has contributed to the WSPA on a local or state level.

WASHINGTON STATE DISTINGUISHED YOUNG PHARMACIST OF THE YEAR AWARD: Established to encourage pharmacists with less than ten years of practice to participate in association activities. The community recognizes an exemplary pharmacist who has made outstanding contributions in the area of community service. Sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual

BILL MUELLER OUTSTANDING MENTOR AWARD: Recognizes a pharmacist or pharmacy technician actively engaged in practice, with at least 10 years of pharmacy practice experience, who has been and continues to be an outstanding mentor in the field of pharmacy.

DAVID ALMQUIST AWARD: Recognizes a member for outstanding work in the endeavors of WSPA promotion and pharmacy enrichment.

DISTINGUISHED LEADERSHIP SERVICE AWARD: Pays tribute to a member who has, over his or her career been instrumental in the development and growth of the profession, and who demonstrates a high level of influence and direction with respect to their workplace, the entire health profession, the community, and/or the profession of pharmacy as a whole.

INNOVATIVE PHARMACY PRACTICE AWARD: Recognizes a practicing pharmacist or pharmacy technician using innovative pharmacy practice to improve patient care and outcomes.

RODNEY D. SHAFER ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Recognizes a pharmacy professional who has made pioneering and sustaining contributions to the profession of pharmacy.

CARDINAL HEALTH GENERATION RX CHAMPIONS AWARD: Recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention.




Washington State Pharmacy Association
411 Williams Ave South
Renton, WA 98057
(425) 228-7171
Fax: (425) 277-3897
Email: wspa@wsparx.org

Google Map
Visitor Parking Map